Australia pick spin twins for Sri Lanka opener

Australia pick spin twins for Sri Lanka opener

PALLEKELE, Sri Lanka: Australian commander Steve Smith named turn twins Nathan Lyon and Steve O’Keefe in his line-up Monday for the arrangement opener against Sri Lanka as the recently delegated rulers of Test cricket hope to concrete their matchless quality.

On the day that Australia were given the mace as the world number one side, Smith took the surprising move of naming his beginning XI a day prior to the begin of the principal Test in Pallekele, close Kandy.

Australia’s ascent up the rankings has been situated in extensive part on the execution of their quick bowlers, for example, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood and they once in a while field more than one spinner.

In any case, subsequent to taking 10 wickets in a warm-up a week ago, O’Keefe has been picked to play just his third Test nearby the more experienced Nathan Lyon – his dear companion and Sheffield Shield fellow team member.

“Both our spinners knocked down some pins well in the practice amusement. They have played parcel of amusements for New South Wales and they are dear companions. It will energize,” Smith told journalists in Pallekele, on the edges of Kandy.

Australia have employed nearby turn legend Muttiah Muralitharan as an advisor for the arrangement, very much aware of Sri Lanka’s notoriety for creating turning pitches.

Smith said that splits had as of now showed up on the Pallekele strip which ought to likewise advantage Sri Lanka’s chief spinner Rangana Herath.

“The wicket will take turn without a doubt here. Not certain about the main innings, but rather it looks extremely dry and bunches of splits on it. It absolutely will turn bowlers,” Smith included.

“They (Sri Lanka) have some quality spinners in their rank drove by Rangana Herath. He has done truly well in these conditions. The players need some great arrangements against him at what he is going to bring at us.”

Smith affirmed that bad habit commander David Warner will play in the wake of being sidelined for six weeks with a broken left pointer.

Mathews kept away from naming his beginning XI and was rather reviling another round of damage misfortunes to an officially drained squad.

Quick bowler Suranga Lakmal whined of a hardened hamstring in the wake of preparing on Sunday before the uncapped Dhananjaya de Silva hurt his finger amid handling drills, Mathews uncovered.

Australia XI: Steve Smith (chief), David Warner, Joe Burns, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill, Steve O’Keeffe, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges

Sri Lanka squad: Angelo Mathews (chief), Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Nuwan Pradeep, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal